Happy New Year

Standard

IMG_4978

Manteca District Christmas Morning

 

 

So it is 2016 and I am so looking forward to being able to spend the whole year serving the Lord!

Monday was probably the best Preparation Day I have had. We went to In N Out and the Elders kidnapped Elder Lopez and put a blanket over his head and he was yelling “Help me, help me” on the phone, it was so funny. We went to the mission office and played soccer. It was so fun. I don’t know how this happened, but I was on a team with just Sisters and one Elder, he was the goalie. We were playing against the stacked All-Star team and I managed to score a goal!!!! I had no idea where that came from, but everyone was so excited. It was great. Elder Jones did not know what was coming! I got to talk to other missionaries and this really cool convert with a cool story. She thanked me for doing what I was doing. We did our shopping and just had some time to relax and write letters. We went to this Japanese place with members for dinner. I was a helpless cause understanding what everything meant and the grill guy found it humorous. We taught a lesson with one of our investigators and our relief society president came with us, it went really well. Definitely a great day!

On Tuesday we had a really good companionship study. We have decided our companionship goals are to be like Alma and Amulek! I’m Sister Amulek, haha! We went to service and had so much fun. We sorted carrots and oranges, some of them had hair, it was so nasty. We met with one of our investigators. She is a challenging one and I left feeling very discouraged, but prayer really helps. We biked around most of the afternoon. We got in to see one less active that evening. Long day.

On our morning walk I bundled up so much, I have become a wimp to the cold. We went to Turlock on Wednesday so that I could get some prescriptions renewed. It felt so good to drive a car! They played 2 Green Day songs, definitely a tender mercy! We did studies and taught a lesson to a less active. I was trying to be really good all day and not complain about the cold, but around 4 I broke down. I decided I should just say that it is not warm outside, that’s not complaining, it’s stating fact! Biking in the cold is no fun, but I just deal with it because all that I can do. We had our appointment with Joe. I had no idea how to start the lesson from the conversation we were having, but somehow I was able to tell him what he needed to hear. I had no idea what I was saying, but that just proves that I am the one speaking and the spirit is the one teaching. So cool!

We had a zone training on Thursday. President Palmer came and it was so good. We talked about distraction and the doctrine of baptism. It was way cool! Also, brownies frosted with Nutella are really good… that is what everyone said because they ate them all before I could eat one! We taught this investigator named Ellen and it so cool because she totally gets what we are talking about. But again, I also noticed me teaching by the spirit again it was so cool. We saw this less active with Alzheimer’s, she told us the same stories. Our dinner was interesting and they let off fireworks which was cool. We surprisingly didn’t have an earlier curfew. President Palmer said that people don’t start drinking until 9, so we didn’t have anything to worry about!

Happy New Year! On Friday morning it was dead quiet on our walk. We did our weekly planning and went on exchanges. I stayed here and got to lead the area. I did not get lost! It felt good that I could prove to myself that I could lead the area! It was so cold on Friday night too.

Saturday was a rough day. We biked around for 2 hours and tried less actives and dropped investigators. We made some appointments, but didn’t get in to see anyone. Then we exchanged back and basically biked around for 4 hours trying to see lots of people, but not seeing anyone. It was so hard and it was so cold. We called our district leader for permission to go to the store to buy Ben & Jerry’s because it was one of those days and he totally understood. I got the last pint of Half Baked too. We finally got in to see some less actives. Their daughter is active and goes to BYUI, she was about to go back. Our District leader came by and gave us pizza and told us that it is okay to admit we had a rough day and that I was diligent and did not give up. That made me happy to hear. It was such a long day.

On Sunday we switched to morning church. We had our coordination meeting at 8 and we walked there. We had 3 investigators come to church. The little girls were a challenge and did not want to sit there. It was a rough Sunday. Thankfully, we didn’t have ward council. We went back and studied and then we had dinner at 3. The rest of the evening was tough and cold. One of our members called us and told us we should go see this less active sister and so she took us and met with her. She really wants to come back to church! It was really great. We also saw this less active, Sister Lawrence, she is so nice. We tried some other people, but no one let us in. We quickly planned and made it an early night.

It’s raining today. It is supposed to rain almost all week. It’s good for California, bad for missionaries on bikes! We are going to do our shopping soon and then come back to play Volleyball.

I hope everyone has a great New Year! I really would encourage everyone to read “Eyes to See and Ears to Hear” by Elder Kim B. Clark. I read it a few days ago and again today. It’s a really great talk. I also Encourage you to read “Through God’s Eyes” by one of the new apostles, Elder Dale G. Renlund. I thought about it today and felt that I needed to read it. It is so good. Also a scripture that has really helped me get through these rough couple of days is D&C 64:33-34. It really put things in a different perspective. I am trying to be a diligent, obedient, missionary. This work is not always easy, but I am so thankful that I have this opportunity right now to be set apart as one of his servants.

All the Love,
Sister Hanna Nicole Lynn

Leave a Reply

