There Is No End To Union

Standard

We got transfer calls last night after 10. Looks like I am staying here in Union with Sister Hogan for at least 6 more weeks! We were singing “If You Could High to Kolob” the other day during studies and in one of the verses it says “There is no end to union”. I thought it was very appropriate! (Hanna is serving in the Union Ward)

So last Monday we went to Big Trees. We left a little later than we planned. We rode with this YSA, she is the daughter of some of our members. We thought we were going to die on the way up, it was a Junker car and the wheels were making scratching sounds and smelled like burned rubber some of the time. We were just praying all the way up there that we wouldn’t die! I never thought I would say this but I was so excited to see snow! There was so much snow and we had snowball fights and just had so much fun! I never thought I would miss it, but I did. I felt like a little kid again. The trees were so big. They were Sequoia’s. People took a lot of pictures, so hopefully I will be able to get them. It was so funny, Elder McKay, he is a visa waiter going to Thailand. He stood on this fence and was shouting “Clap Ti” Which means repent in Thai. People were throwing snowballs at him and they kept missing. It was like Samuel the Lamanite, it was sooo funny! “Clap Ti”. We left later than we had planned too. Someone in the group left early and so we had problems with rides. We got back at like 6:30 and I felt so bad because we are supposed to be back out proselyting by 6. Everything worked out though. We met with our ward mission leader and talked about the missionary work in our ward. We actually had a really productive evening.

Tuesday was a fun morning. It was pouring outside. So we went out and tried some dropped investigators. We had raincoats and umbrellas, but since it was so windy we got soaked. It was not fun. We went to service, it was the last one of the transfer. We sorted apples and threw away expired yogurt. Elder McKay thought nothing was wrong with it, so he ate some. He said it tasted okay, but then he determined there was a reason it was expired. We had a lot of fun. Who would think that throwing away expired yogurt and sorting rotten apples would be so fun!? The Hermanas let us use their car and we tried so many dropped investigators and we got a new investigator. Her name is Mia. She has trouble understanding Joseph Smith, but is willing to try again. Dinner was interesting. We had it at the edge of our area in this place called French Camp. These people love Halloween and they have a skull and crossbones painted on their garage. She asked if there was anything we didn’t want and I said seafood. We didn’t have seafood, but we had chili and I really dislike chili. Not even garlic bread could get the taste out. After that we went and taught this girl Kaleigh. She is friends with a member and has been going to church and seminary. We taught her and her mom the restoration and it went so well. They will consider getting baptized and they are going to pray whether the book of Mormon is true, it’s so awesome! Our Zone leader, Elder Moreno came and dropped off a package. He always asks us how we are doing and we say, “We’re doing good!” and without fail, every time, he says, “Heck Yeah!” It’s so funny.

On Wednesday we had a worldwide missionary conference at 10 at the stake center. It was so good and I learned so much. It was called “Teach Repentance and Baptize Converts”. There were so many good speakers. Elder Andersen, Elder Bednar, Sister Oscarson, and so many others spoke. I definitely learned how to be a better missionary. It was nice to see all of the Lodi missionaries again. We went on exchanges. I went with Sister Neeley here in union. We had a lot of fun and we taught our investigators, the Martin’s, the one who studied biblical studies. I think it went well. We taught most of the Plan of Salvation. We didn’t get to what happens after death. We got invited to go to mutual to watch the face to face with Elder Rasband, Sister Oscarson and Brother Owen. It was so good. I know that I am not a youth, but I still learned so much from it.

On Thursday we did some service in Mountain House. We helped this lady get her house move in ready. We did this as a district. It was fun. We didn’t have time for district meeting, but we rescheduled for Friday. We exchanged back. We tried some formers again and met with this old man who is really cool and wants to share the gospel with everyone and we have a return appointment. We also met with this old lady and her son. They were super nice, but not really interested in learning about the gospel. We saw this other former. She is super nice and admires what we do. She said we could stop by for water or snacks anytime we needed to. She is happy being catholic though, but is open to learning more. We had our appointment with Joe. We taught tithing and fasting. It went super well. He is getting baptized this Saturday, I am so happy for him!

Friday we had our last district meeting. It was great, but even though Elder King promised it wouldn’t go over, it went over again. We took a bunch of pictures. Elder King told me that I have really good fashion sense and my outfits are always put together. I told him it’s because I didn’t want to look like a frumpy sister missionary and it was funny because the Elders knew exactly what I was talking about! He said I should be the model on the LDS website for missionary clothes, because it really needs help. So thanks mom, for getting me clothes that match and look put together and not frumpy! We met with this guy, he really is not interested. We tried a few other drops, but got raindrops instead. We started our weekly planning and then Elder Moreno came with more letters for Sister Hogan. We went out to dinner with the Hermanas. We had a gift card for Pizza. It was fun. We saw this crazy less active couple and she has a bunch of health problems. I have a hard time going over there, it’s just hard to see. She basically is bed ridden. It is definitely a lesson to me that I need to take care of my body and if I ever get diabetes I need to manage it. The Ripon sister’s took us home.

Saturday morning was actually really nice. The Brooksby’s made us breakfast because it was the end of the transfer. The Hermanas came and it was so fun. Sister Sheffer leaves tomorrow ahhh! We finished our weekly planning and went out and tried dropped investigators. Our appointment with Joe cancelled so we met with an active family, who invited us for dinner on Sunday. We haven’t really been getting fed. We worked on our area book. We got a text saying transfer calls wouldn’t come until after planning on Sunday night, ugh the torture.

For I think the first time since I got to Manteca we actually had a nice Sunday morning. Church was good. Joe got his baptismal interview and he passed! Which means we passed as teachers, we taught him right and the things we needed to! We had our missionary meeting after church and ward council. We took a break and finished our studies. We tried some potentials and went to dinner. We had our lesson with Joe and then a part member family. We waited by the phone all night waiting for the call. Some things are changing in the area. I still have the same zone leader, but he got a new companion. Elder Bonola, his former companion was so cool. He is a convert of less than 2 years. He is from Brooklyn, New York and had a rough past. His conversion story is so cool. We determined that he is that cool person you don’t know how you are friends with but you are. I also have a new district leader, I totally called that it would be Elder Grover! I’m taller than him, by a good half inch probably! Things are changing in the zone and district, but this is where the Lord wants me to be.

Today we are going to go to Tracy and eat Thai food and play zone sports and possibly go to the Ghirardelli factory. It is going to be a fun day!

I hope everyone has a great week. Thanks for all the love and support. Missionary work is not possible without the help of members, so I would encourage everyone to reach out and find those people who need the gospel.

In just 6 weeks, I was able to touch so many lives and lead someone to the waters of baptism and reactivate a less active. Teresa said that we are the reason that she is coming back to church. It just feels so good to help others come closer to Christ.

That’s about it!

All the Love,

Sister Hanna Lynn

Leave a comment