Life As a Missionary

Standard

 

 

 

DSC01854 (1)

Happy Monday!

This week was much better than last week. The work was kind of slow the previous week and things have picked up this week.

We played lots of sports on Monday, it was fun. We had dinner with this older couple and had our investigators, the Martin’s joined us. Sister Hogan fixed my bike and then we went on exchanges. I stayed in Union and Sister Neeley came.

On Tuesday we had exchanges almost the whole day. I love exchanges. I learned a lot from Sister Neeley and enjoyed spending time with her. We saw this less active Polynesian family and they are so excited to come back to church. We went to service. So many carrots. We also sorted pears and I was making a ton of pear puns and ap”pear”antly I was pretty funny! We went over to the nicer part of the area and tried some part member families and people who don’t have any information by their name. We then went and tried this address of this family we were looking for since Sister Hogan got here and they were home and we found them! We made an appointment with them, I just can’t believe we found them! We went to Panera with the other sister’s and exchanged back. We saw the Zaragoza’s, this less active family. They are super great and we had a nice visit with them.

Not too many people were out on Wednesday morning. It was super windy, which makes it hard to ride a bike. We tried part member families all afternoon and got in to see this old couple. They were super nice. We saw this less active lady who was really nice. We came back for dinner and we were going to bike to our appointment but we saw some lightening so we got a ride. We had an appointment with Joe and his family, but his parents were too tired and didn’t sit in on the lesson, which was disappointing. Emily, a girl in the Lathrop ward came with us, she is awesome. We got a ride home and I am so glad we did because it was pouring down rain.

We had our district meeting on Thursday. It was so great. We each shared a passage or scripture in the Book of Mormon that has blessed/changed your life. I chose Alma 38:2&5. These scriptures helped me early on in my mission. I substituted the word son for daughter and Shiblon with my name.

2 And now, my [daughter], I trust that I shall have great joy in you, because of your steadiness and your faithfulness unto God; for as you have commenced in your youth to look to the Lord your God, even so I hope that you will continue in keeping his commandments; for blessed is [she] that endureth to the end.

5 And now my [daughter], [Hanna], I would that ye should remember, that as much as ye shall put your trust in God even so much ye shall be delivered out of your trials, and your troubles, and your afflictions, and ye shall be lifted up at the last day.

I feel like these scriptures can be applicable to anyone. It’s just that easy that we need to have faith in God and keep the commandments and he will bless us. Someone also shared one of my other favorite scriptures, 1 Nephi 17:13.

13 And I will also be your light in the wilderness; and I will prepare the way before you, if it so be that ye shall keep my commandments; wherefore, inasmuch as ye shall keep my commandments ye shall be led towards the promised land; and ye shall know that it is by me that ye are led.

My zone leader pointed out that to him, the wilderness means leaving your comfort zone. That is so true. We leave our comfort zone and face hard things, but God would never ask us to do anything that is impossible and we need to trust him to be a light and that he will help us in times of trial and hardship as long as we keep the commandments. It was a really great district meeting. I always learn so much from the other missionaries. Have you ever had cookie butter? It is super good! I’m obsessed now. After district meeting we were going to have a pancake party with one of the other districts, but the Ripon sisters were taking us home and they couldn’t stay. We didn’t get to go to service either. We tried some people and did some street contacting. We went and had our appointment with the less active family we found the other day, the Cayode’s. They are Polynesians too. Polynesians like to feed you. They had a meal for us, even though we had dinner next. We had a good lesson with them. She kept calling us Elders. They are excited to come back to church, this is so exciting! We had dinner out in the country with an old couple who really like to talk. It’s always interesting over there. We tried this older lady and she wasn’t home, so we saw this less active lady who has a lot of health problems, but it really makes her day when we come visit her.

Friday was not a typical Friday. We did our studies like we normally do and then we went to Tracy for our President Interviews. I love President Interviews. We did weekly planning while the Hermana’s had their interviews and then we took a lunch break and we had our interviews. I met with Sister Palmer first. We kept being interrupted by other missionaries who were being too loud. Elder Torres is not a good baby sitter, haha! I had my interview with President. It was good. He just talked to me about how we can get more baptisms in this mission. He also talked about how important preaching by the way is. We finally got to come back and we had an appointment with a less active lady, another poly, haha. We then had dinner with our ward mission leader. He made diced potatoes like the ones my Mom makes and we had waffles with sprinkles, never going back to plain waffles. We had our appointment with Joe and his family. It went well and we talked about the law of tithing. Long day that was not a normal day. That was needed because my days have felt repetitive lately and it was nice to shake it up.

Saturday was a crazy day! All my dreams lately are related to missionary work. I was teaching about the converting power of the Holy Ghost the other day in my dream. I had a dream that I was contacting and I was mad because I knew I needed to sleep and not be out contacting. Life as a missionary! We finished our weekly planning in the morning. It was kind of foggy and nobody was out. Emily came out with us in the afternoon. We tried this part member family and she freaked out and was really rude to us. We tried this other lady and she asked us how we knew where she lived, it was crazy. We saw this less active lady and had a good lesson with her. She got this new puppy who is the size of a beanie baby. Sister Hogan got a flat tire and so the Elders came and fixed it. We took Emily home. She got quite the missionary experience. After dinner, it was cold so we went and put on tights. I thought I was done with wearing my tights. There were some crazies out. We tried this old lady, but she wasn’t home. We saw this old couple. I found out some great news, the Bowan’s, the family I was teaching back in Lodi are getting baptized and I found out I can go! I am so excited!

We had a family, the Vautaur’s come to church, the whole family it was great. It’s always nerve racking when you have investigators come to church for the first time because you don’t want anyone to say anything that they shouldn’t. Ward council was interesting. We saw this less active lady and we had dinner with the Papworth’s again with Vautaur’s. It was great. We saw this less active old lady and this couple. She taught us about her Polynesian heritage. It was an interesting day.

Today we are going to play sport’s, I’m so excited! This week is supposed to be warm. It should be a great week!

All the Love,

Sister Hanna Nicole Lynn

Leave a Reply

