I Can Sacrifice 18 months of My Mortal Life Knowing that I Can Spend Eternity with My Family!

Standard

DSC01963.JPG

 

Hola, como estés?

Last Monday we went to Manteca and played sports and Apples to Apples. It was fun. We tried a few people in the evening, but no one was home.
On Tuesday we visited this YSA who just got out of the hospital after being burned by hot water from the shower. It was nice to visit her, she called us Elders though! We did service at that same retirement facility. It was fun. We sanded some tables and took the finishing off of them. We briefly saw this left active, her family is one of the focus families. We saw 2 other families from our focus families list. So I consider that pretty successful. We were going to be getting our car, but Elder Lopez forgot to tell us that we needed to get our car in Tracy, so we had to wait.
On Wednesday, we did service on a member’s orchard from the Hidden Lake ward. Sister Palmer came. We picked these giant lemons off the tree and pruned some cherry trees and picked up sticks, it was super fun. We saw a few members in the afternoon. After dinner, we got a ride to Tracy to pick up our car. It’s a brand new 2016 Toyota Corolla! It was a slow night. I made pretzel chocolate chip cookie bars for the bake off we were having after zone training!
Feliz Cinco De Mayo! On Thursday, we had our zone training. It was so nice to drive ourselves! It was so good. My Sister Training Leaders led a training on Ether 12:6 and we had really great discussions about it. My wonderful Zone Leaders asked me if I would do a training on the Christlike Attribute Hope. I Hope I did a good job! Hope is an abiding trust that the Lord will fulfill His promises to you. It went pretty well. One of my zone leaders, Elder Grover, led a training on Moroni 7. We talked a lot about faith, hope and charity. It was really good. He related it back to Alma 7:24. I feel so privileged to be able to work with such great missionaries. We also talked about D&C 58:26-33. It was all so good! We had a bake-off against my other zone leader, Elder Roudabush and he won, what??? How does Banana Chocolate Chip Bread beat Pretzel Chocolate Chip Cookie Bars? After, a lot of us went to this Mexican Meat Market called, Mi Esparanza and brought it back and ate it at the church, I love my zone! It was raining so we walked. We tried a few people and talked to this guy on the street. We went to the Sales’s and met their son who just got back from his mission in New Jersey. We also had our Missionary Coordination Meeting. It was a long day.
It rained a lot on Friday. We had an appointment with Monique. It was quick. We talked about the Book of Mormon and why it is important that we read the Book of Mormon. We did weekly planning. It was raining, but the sun was out? The Zone Leaders came by and gave us our bike rack and my package. They also made us banana bread! We saw our investigator Megan. We saw a few families. We read scriptures with the second counselor of the bishopric and his family. Long day.
It rained almost the whole day on Saturday. We gave Megan a Book of Mormon. We tried a few potentials and saw this lady in the ward, she made us lunch. We spent almost all afternoon in the Altamont Village. Not a lot of people were home. We did meet this one family who gave us two referrals! They also got me some Zyrtec, the members are so awesome! A member took us out to dinner. It was hard because the Golden State Warriors game was on, so tough. We tried a few more people and read scriptures with a family in the ward.
It was so nice to drive ourselves to church on Sunday. We had a good sacrament meeting and I taught Gospel Principles. All of the women met in the gym and they had treats and our Bishop gave a really good lesson. We did our studies in the afternoon. Then we got to Skype! It was so awesome, it was so great to see my family and talk to them. I am definitely a missionary because I noticed myself bearing my testimony throughout the whole thing. I know that I can sacrifice 18 months of my mortal life knowing that I can spend eternity with my family! We tried a few people before dinner. After dinner, we met with this less active family and tried a few others. It was a good day!
Today, marks 8 months since I came out on my mission! It’s hard to believe I have 10 months left to be doing this. I don’t want to waste any time. I am looking forward to what the next 10 months will bring! it was so nice being able to just go to town by ourselves. I showed Sister Turner the Tracy Mall, it makes Eastgate mall look nice! We are planning on playing sports later today.
Thank you for all of the love and support!
All the Love,
Sister Hanna Lynn
Leave a Reply

