I Just Love Bringing Others Closer to Christ

Standard

received_10154038862329775.jpg

 

Hello everybody! This week was pretty great!

On Monday we played lots of basketball and volleyball. It was super fun! We had dinner with the Sorenson’s and played minute to win it games in honor of the Olympics! We had a lesson with a potential, but she wasn’t home. We shared the Gospel of Jesus Christ with the Alexander’s.
Tuesday marked 11 months out on my mission! That is so not real, it’s not?! We had a lesson with the Waltz’s on the Plan of Salvation. We saw a LA/PMF family and saw a few other people. We had dinner with the Sales’s because our dinner cancelled last minute. We saw a less active and had a lesson with Monique. Sister Alexander came with us and they had an awesome connection. We talked more about the Word of Wisdom and tithing and the Book of Mormon. It was really great!
Wednesday morning we had an appointment with a potential, but he wasn’t home. We went to Tracy Interfaith. I made cookies during lunch. We saw Sister Gomez. I am so happy I am not studying biology anymore. She is in nursing school and just seeing how much she has to study brought back some of those wonderful memories of having no life because I studied all of the time! We met the new family, the Moon’s. We had dinner with a less active family. We saw a LA/PMF and read a scripture and prayed with them. Only the Mom is a member, but the whole family loves us.
In my studies on Thursday, I was reading “Opposition in All Things” by Dallin H. Oaks. He said “Opposition permits us to grow toward what our Heavenly Father would have us become”. I really like that. We went to district meeting. It was Elder Lopiano’s birthday and he made me a cake for mine, so I made peanut butter cookies for him. The Hermana’s weren’t there because one was sick, so it was small. We talked about faith, hope and charity and having the faith to find. We did a 15 minute role play just on street contacting. That is something I am working on, so it was great practice. It was really hot. No one really was home. It was kind of hard because it was the first day of school. We saw a potential and gave her a Book of Mormon. That is a goal of mine to give away at least one Book of Mormon a week! We dinner with the Merrill’s. We had our lesson with Sai and Cameron Sales came with us. We met with our ward mission leader. It was a long, but good day!
On Friday I continued to read Elder Oaks talk and there was a good quote from President Monson, “Our Heavenly Father knows that we learn and grow and became refined through hard challenges, heartbreaking sorrows and difficult choices… These and other trials present us with the real test of our ability to endure”. I love that! We started weekly planning. We met with a less active and she asked us to give her a priesthood blessing, interesting. Obviously we can’t do that, so she asked us to pray with her. We came back and finished weekly planning. We saw a less active. We have the best member’s, Sister Grant got me a 2 pack of peanut butter from Costco, so nice! The zone leaders came by and gave us the mail. I got a dress, my parent’s are the best! We tried to see a few people before dinner. We had dinner with the Oppenheimer’s, they are so great. I can actually say I’ve had vegetables in my dessert! We saw the Bolla’s and read scriptures. She is so excited about the Book of Mormon, it is so awesome!
I felt like it wouldn’t be right if I left this out, but Happy National Left-Handed Day on Saturday! It was kind of a slow morning. We gave invitations to our ward ice cream social to some of the new families that moved in. We also gave them to random people too. It was super hot. We filled up water balloons and helped set up for the ice cream social. We were the ice cream scooper’s. I determined this is a new workout! There were a lot of people. Some kids came around too many times. Some of the people we invited came! We also played volleyball, it was so much fun! It was really great! I am so happy that I get to serve here in Mountain House! It was such a long day, but it was fun!
We had ward council on Sunday Morning. We had a good sacrament meeting and President Palmer came, that was a nice surprise! We actually had good participation in gospel principles. Relief society was good. We started our studies and then had lunch at the Fobert’s. We came back and finished studies. We went out and contacted people. We got a lecture on paganism, very interesting. We had a lesson with Michael at the park with two return missionaries. We talked about the Book of Mormon. It is always so interesting with Michael. He always says, “Peace, Love, and Prosperity!” and a few other things, that I am not going to share. We saw the Gehmlich’s. We talked to a potential and PMF. It was a really long, hot day!
Today we might be going to Manteca to play sports. It should be fun!
I just love being a missionary and don’t want this to ever end! I am having so much fun, even in this heat! I just love bringing others closer to Christ and sharing the restored gospel and my love of Jesus Christ with other people!
I hope everyone has a great week!
All the Love,
Sister Hanna Nicole Lynn
Leave a Reply

