Crazy and Full of Adventures!

Standard

untitled

 

Oh what do you do in the summertime? Wait, it’s not Summer yet, but it sure feels like it!

What an eventful, amazing week! It was crazy and full of adventures!

Happy Spring!

Monday was so productive. We saw Sarah and Isabella and shared a message with them. We had a lesson with the Pedersen’s and it went well. They are so ready for their baptism! We also got to share a message with a less active family! Not too bad for only 3 hours of proselyting!

They were filming for some movie at The Castle on Tuesday so we didn’t get to do service. It was super warm. I was being rebellious and didn’t put on sunscreen because I want to get a little bit of tan before I go home. That was a mistake. I forgot that we are in higher elevation and closer to the sun than back home so I did get a little sunburned, darn. My foot tan is coming back though! We tried so many people, but no one could meet. We basically biked up and down hills all day in the heat! We did stop at a members house to get water and go to the bathroom and shared a message with them. I wish I would have thought about that last summer, because with the amount of water you drink you need to make frequent stops! It is the perfect time to not only help yourself, but help others and bring the spirit into their homes. We talked to Brother Hansen about speaking at Charlie’s baptism. He also gave us lemons form his tree. When Brother Hansen gives you lemons… ! We had dinner with the Hendrickson’s and Brother Jenkins because his wife is out of town. I just love them. The Sister Training Leaders came and picked us up for our exchange. For exchanges, we both go to their area. It was weird. We were in the Modesto 12th ward, which is Spanish. They cover part of their area in Oakdale, Riverbank and Salida. It was a long day.

I was with Hermana Trejo for exchanges Wednesday. She is from Mexico. I helped her with language study and she is studying English so it was easy. We went and tried all of these referrals they got. We talked to this lady on the street and she was a 7th Day Adventist and so we asked her if she knew anyone that could use a message about Jesus Christ and she pointed to a house across the street and said that they speak Spanish. So we went and tried them and they said we could come in. Hermana Trejo taught most of the Restoration and I just sat there because I couldn’t communicate, but I could feel the spirit. They set up another appointment and so we found 2 new investigators! We tried this other potential and we taught the plan of salvation. I could understand what was going on, I didn’t know what exactly was being said, but I knew what she was talking about. It was really neat. We saw this recent convert, who spoke English, Hallelujah! W e shared the new Joseph Smith clip from the church. We had dinner with a less active. She gave us hot dogs and pop and this chicken stuff with cactus in it. She didn’t speak English very well. I got to contribute a little and my companion translated. She said I had a big spirit and that I looked very young, like 15 or 16. We came back and got all packed up. Hermana Trejo said I had a lot of patience, which is crazy because that is the Christlike attribute I need to work on the most. She also said that I am very obedient! It was a nice exchange and we were all so dead tired on the way back. It was a very long, but good day!

On Thursday, I finished the Book of Mormon for the 14th time! I just know that The Book of Mormon is so true and every time I read it I learn new things and my testimony grows. We had district meeting. It’s just us, Jackson and San Andres. We talked about hymns and how they can help us. Everyone shared their favorite hymn. I study a hymn everyday and it has really blessed my life. Hymns can really bring the spirit and you can learn so much. We tried some potentials in the afternoon. We had dinner with the Fowler’s, always an adventure. We had a lesson with the Pedersen’s and went over the baptismal interview questions, they are so ready! They made us brownies, it was nice that we just got to talk and get to know them better. It was a pretty good day!

I started the Book of Mormon for my 15th time on Friday! We did weekly planning and we saw the Hawkins. We had dinner with the Whittenburg’s and Charlie’s parents were able to join us. It was really nice, they couldn’t stay long, but it was a start. We had Charlie’s last lesson. It is all so exciting. We had an appointment with a less active family, but they weren’t home. We saw Sister Stowell and had a good lesson about service.

Saturday was a crazy day! So the baptism was supposed to be at 11, but a well loved member of the Ione ward passed away and the funeral was at that time, so the baptism was at 430 instead. It actually worked out better that way. We saw Sister Gentry. We met with Brother Johnson and finalized things for the baptism. We saw a less active family that has been kind of struggling and it was really nice to see them. The Pedersen’s had their interview and they all passed! We set up for the baptism and their was such a good turn out. President and Sister Palmer came. It was so neat to see him when I first met and to see him now. He has changed so much and his testimony was so powerful. We had dinner by ourselves and tried a ton of potentials and we saw Sister Rowert. What a day!

Sunday was an adventure. We went to ward council. Charlie got confirmed. The bishop’s son, Matt, just got back form his mission on Friday and he spoke. It was so good. He talked about being guided by the spirit and how the Holy Ghost can help us. Our class was good and so was relief society. We needed to get the baptism record signed by Charlie’s mom and so we rushed to go to her work, but she got off earlier than we thought. So we drove out to Comanche and got his Mom to sign it before she left for the week. It was so crazy. We finally got to plan and we had companion study. We had dinner with the Johnson’s and shared the Gospel of Jesus Christ with them. We tried more potentials. We are really trying to find people to teach. We gave the baptism record to the ward clerk and had a little lesson, it was great. We came back and did out personal study. It was so good, but too bad we didn’t have companion study after to talk about it! Crazy and Adventurous day!

This was a scripture that stuck out to me in my studies. It’s in James 4:6&10
6 But he giveth more grace. Wherefore he saith, God resisteth the proud, but giveth grace unto the humble.
10 Humble yourselves in the sight of the Lord, and he shall lift you up.

Today our washer broke, but luckily the members love us and are helping us out. Our vacuum also broke. We did get our cleaning done and our shopping. We have an appointment with the Pedersen’s tonight!

This week is going to be so awesome! We are going on a scavenger hunt this week to find new investigators. Our teaching pool is being baptized.

I know that my time is limited, so I am going to work so hard this next week and not let the influence of Satan drag me down. I love being a missionary and just want to continue to bring others closer to Christ!

Have a good week everyone!

All the Love,
Sister Hanna Lynn

Leave a Reply

